Canine Assistance Is Requested

Thursdays. I never could get the hang of Thursdays.

One of the biggest adjustments I’ve made in my move to freelance work is my work hours. Because of the convenience (nay, I say, the glory!) of the internet and working with publishers remotely, in very real sense I have absolutely no work schedule. No one is there to care if I can’t sleep so I work until 3 in the morning. Similarly, no one cares if I just don’t want to get out of bed and don’t get dressed until noon. There are no “sick days” to track or “vacation hours” to tabulate. If I don’t work, I don’t get paid, and there’s no one to care about that except for me.

I mean the above paragraph in a professional sense, because obviously there’s one important exception to that rule. I am married, after all, so sleeping or playing video games all day and working all evening isn’t really an option. Contrary to the portrayal of many marriages in popular culture, I am actually quite fond of my wife and enjoy hanging out with her every evening when she gets home from her office job. As such, my big adjustment in my work hours has been going from working 9-5 in an office to working 9-5 at home. My effort to stick it to the man and work for myself has led me to…work the exact same amount in a different building. But that’s OK; sometimes I’ll edit – or even write blog posts – in my underwear.

*cough*

Anyway, when I did work in a building other than this one (like a corporate drone, mannnnn) I always found Thursdays to be tricky. It’s close enough to the weekend that you can smell the freedom, but you can’t exactly goof off because it’s not actually Friday, you’re not actually about to hit the weekend, and you do actually have stuff to do. It is on days like this that it’s good to take a mental health break. Watch a youtube video, play a free flash game, or look at some funny pictures. In this spirit, I’ll do my best to post a mental-health redeeming picture on this blog every Thursday.

Now, there’s a proud tradition on the internet of posting pictures of cats. You may have seen a couple of these pictures. You could have missed them, as they are exceedingly rare. Though I do enjoy cats, I’m really more of a dog person. Specifically, I’m more of a Shiba Inu person. For those who don’t know about Shibas, they are a Japanese hunting breed similar to the more-famous Akita. Shibas are characterized by a curly, fluffy tail, pointy ears, and almond-shaped eyes.

Shiba Inu DogShiba Inu Chew

It is true that they are adorable and fluffy, but my favorite thing about them is their documented history of I-Don’t-Give-A-Shit-itis. These dogs are not Labradors: they do not care what you think. If you have food, they may come to you when they feel like it. If you do not, they will stop by when they’re feeling lonely, and not before. I’ve been at my desk for three hours this morning, and not one of my dogs has woken up to see what the hell it is I’m doing. Because they don’t care, fuck-you-very-much.

So that’s that. Here’s the inaugural Thursday Inu Picture:

Yuki Shiba Inu Grass Roll

That’s Yuki. We got him out of the Fort Worth Animal Shelter three years ago yesterday, and he’s been a monster ever since.

Enjoy your Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Canine Assistance Is Requested

  1. The Shibas WILL come and get you and then bug the crap out of you exactly when you need to concentrate the most. Enjoy your solitude while it lasts, hehe!

  2. Pingback: Canine Assistance Is Requested pt. II | Red Pen Mercenary

  3. Pingback: Thursday’s (EPIC) Inu Post pts. 3 and 4 | Red Pen Mercenary

Comments are closed.