On the Virtues of Totally Selling Out

Here’s the fun fact of the day: I am, in fact, still alive.

When I started this blog, my goal was to accurately and honestly chronicle my efforts to build an independent editing business. I discussed working from home and how good it felt to stick it to the man and quit my old job. I veered off into dogs and atheism, because…well, because I can.

And then I disappeared for the rest of the year. What happened to me?

Well, I totally sold out.

I took a contract position as a copywriter at an extremely large corporate retailer. After finding ways to deal with delayed freelancer payments, a lack of job security, and no benefits, I took a highly-paid gig with weekly paychecks, a stated contract duration, and provided benefits. I enjoyed the hell out of working from home and drinking in the middle of the day and then went back to a cubicle in a giant office full of people and a business casual dress code.

Why?

Well, the thing about selling out is that the selling brings with it a lot of cash. And in this case, it was enough cash for my wife to quit her job (a job that she hated) to focus on starting her own business and doing volunteer work. Given the opportunity to quite literally rescue the missus from a dead-end, soul-sucking job – at the low, low price of three to six months of easy corporate copywriting – it was an easy decision.

The good news is that the corporate servitude will only last a few months, after which it’s back to lunchtime beers and chasing the dream. The bad news is that with such a short contract, there’s really no reason not to keep accepting assignments for freelance work in the meantime – after all, I’ll need to have some business going when I do leave my contract. The result of this is that I’ve been working crazy hours since the beginning of September – up to 93 hours one week, but usually closer to 60 hours.

This has had a detrimental affect, it must be said, on my searching out new and bigger freelance contacts and assignments. Afterall, I’m already working as much or more as I care to work. There is literally no reason for me to accept even more work on top of that.

But enough about me. How have you been?

3 thoughts on “On the Virtues of Totally Selling Out

Comments are closed.